Since its creation in 1975, the primary mission of the MHA is to create a quality healthcare environment for both providers and users in its service area and to ensure that the Authority remains in a position to meet the health care needs in its service area.

The original name of the Authority was the Farmers Branch Hospital Authority. The Metrocrest name was chosen in the late 1980s to better represent all the communities the Authority serves, including North Dallas, Farmers Branch, Carrollton, Coppell, Addison, and The Colony.

The Authority is a political subdivision of the State of Texas and a unit of local government.
Issues with this site? Let us know.